Monday, June 2, 2014

Events and Activities at Bet David

Ordination of Rabbi Julia Margolis
02 September 2014 in the restored, historic White Stork Synagogue of Wroclaw, Poland, Julia Margolis received her Smichah from Pottsdam-based Abraham
Geiger College.
Rabbi Julia is the first woman ordained in Poland at the first Ceremony of Ordination in the former home of the German Jewish Theological Seminary.



BET DAVID HIGH HOLY DAYS 2014-5775


High Holy Day Guest tickets and Visitor's tickets are available from the Bet David office during office hours, prior to the Holy Days.  Tickets must be brought to all services, for security reasons.
 
Erev Rosh Hashanah
Wednesday 24 September
18.00
Rosh Hashanah Day (& youth activities) & Tashlich
Thursday 25 September
09.30
Rosh Hashanah Eve II
Thursday 25 September
18.00
Rosh Hashanah Day II
Friday 26 September
09.30
Kabbalat Shabbat Shuvah
Friday 26 September
18.00
Shabbat Ha-azinu-Shuvah
Saturday 27 September
10.00
Kol Nidre (Erev Yom Kippur)
Friday 03 October
18.30
Yom Kippur Morning Service 09.30; Shiur 13.00, Yizkor 17.00; Neilah 18.00; Fast ends 18.50
Saturday 04 October
09.30
 
Erev Sukkot
Wednesday 08 October
18.00
Sukkot Morning
Thursday 09 October
10.00
Erev Simchat Torah
Wednesday 15 October
18.00
Atzeret-Simchat Torah Morning
Thursday 16 October
10.00


JOIN THE BET DAVID COMMUNITY FOR A TRIPLE P SUPPER
On Friday 12 September 2014 Bet David will be having a Triple P Supper
- Potatoes (Baked with fillings), Plonk (good plonk!!) and Pudding -
in the Rondavel at Bet David, following the 18.00 Kabbalat Shabbat Service.
Please RSVP to fs31@mweb.co.za for catering purposes.          
This follows on the successful Triple S Supper held on 18 July 2014.

 
Mandela Day Event 2014
Bet David celebrated Mandela Day on Sunday 24 August 2014, bringing joy to the children of the Mailaika Orphanage in Hillbrow.



S A Union for Progressive Conference National Conference, June 2014

Community Bat Mitzvah at Bet David, May 2014


Children having fun at our Saturday morning Children's Service
 
 1st Prize Winner of the Bet David Shavuoth Cheesecake Competition, June 2014
 Runners-up in the 2014 Shavuoth Cheesecake Competition